Ten Minute Makeover in under Ten products…

 

DSC_0167

So we all dread the waking up, getting ready for work and having to look half presentable to be seen in public. Therefore I have nailed a look which takes just 10 minutes (maybe 15 if you’re a faffer) to get you out the door.

 

I know that if I don’t wear makeup out in public, I actually get nervous with who I will bump into. Classic example of when I went to Tesco to grab some ice-cream, my best friend assured me I could go make-up free and not bump into anyone we know. Well obviously, (as these things always happen to me), naturally, of course, I bump into my ex-boyfriend (who I hadn’t seen in well over two years) wearing a bucket hat (ew) parked in the car next to me. What the flip flop flap are the chances of me bumping into my ex-boyfriend in Tesco’s car park, at that exact time, when I had no makeup on, didn’t even draw on my brows on…. I was speechless. Bet that showed him what he was missing…. not much!

 

Therefore, I thought that this is a handy blog to have your essential products to get you out the door not quite looking like Vicky Beckham, but maybe at least a coupla’ pegs up from Vicky Pollard.

 

DSC_0138
I am fully aware my roots are frizzy..

So here I go, my easy steps to prevent yourself from looking like Gollum from the bloody Lord of the Rings.

 

Step 1: My favourite foundation in the world, my best friend Estee (obviously), put a few dabs on my fingertips as I hate using brushes as all of the ones I have tried are – to be polite – shit! In circular motions, rub this on your face and rub into your neck so it blends.

 

Step 2: I apply my Nars creamy concealer under my eyes, and blend in to look funky,fresh, fleeky and fabulous. I think it is really important to find the right colour for your concealer and I always encourage getting testers before walking out of the shop. Department stores have the really nice lighting where even if you looked like the rear end of a donkey, you’d look fresh, so take my advice, and make full use of testers.

 

Step 3: This is without a doubt the most important step, if you walk out of the house without doing this, well then you might as well pull the trigger. Draw your for god-saken eyebrows in. I personally have really short eyebrows, if you’re blessed with bushy eyebrows that are lengthy then this does not apply to you. But if you’re anything like me, where they look as short as a club thumb, this is a must. I use my Mac Eyebrow pencil (Spike) as it’s really super thin, so you can achieve those instabrow goals so that the start of your eyebrow isn’t as thick as the end. Research shows that women are perceived being of higher status if they wear makeup. So even if your doing a B-Tech in Urban Dance, people will still think you are clever if you flip of the wrist and get your brows on fleek.

 

Step 4: Whip that bronzer out girl (Bronze Goddess – Estee Lauder) and get some blush on those cheeks. Bronzer is life, the only reason girls bond in the bathroom is because they are all topping up there bronzer or talking tactics how to pull the fittie in the white shirt, grey chinos and short back and sides, sitting on the far left of the room at precisely 11:45 from a North- East angle if your looking at the club from the front. I would always put bronzer lower than you think, it looks a lot more natural if it’s below your cheekbones. Less is more in this situation as you are on a tight ship my friend (I think that is the saying), no time to buff your cheeks for more than 10 seconds.

 

Step 5: Brush those lashes, personally I don’t have a preference in mascaras as they seem to do the damn same thang. I have tried Mac, Lancome, Estee Lauder but I am never one to buy luxury mascaras so I am currently using Rimmel which is giving me some serious volume at the moment. Being partially Asian, if I have no mascara on, no makeup and I laugh? Well, it’s safe to say I can’t see a god damn ting! My eyes disappear into those Japanese slits of mine. So mascara is really one thing for me that really makes a different and makes my eyes looks bigger which is one of my main things.

 

Step 6: Lippy. Get yourself a Mac lippy, I mean come on, who doesn’t have a Mac Lipstick? If you don’t have one then for goodness sake, get yourself down to Debenhams and get one. They last ages, and they have different textures whether you would like a matte finish or a shiny finish, they have everything. But please whatever you do, don’t lip line the hell out of your lips to make your lips look bigger as you look like Dolly Parton.

 

Overall, here is just some essentials that I use for something quick and I just want to point out that everyone has flaws. I know society is slightly warped with this whole lip filler (obviously won’t be needing that), boob jobs and plastic surgery phase. But, everyone hates something about themselves, and I am only recently learning that I don’t care if my nose is flat as fuck, or that my eyes sink into my face when I laugh as those are the cards I was dealt. There will always be girls prettier than you and uglier than you and you should just shake what your mama gave you and embrace yourself and then maybe one day (if you’re lucky), you can look like this….Picture below)

 

DSC_0143

Also, as a quick side note to finish this off…. Ladies and Gents, if somebody who normally wears makeup like myself, then on the rare occasion doesn’t wear make up; do not ask me “are you ill?”. Erm no….. no I’m not ill, actually I am just going ‘au natural’ for one day of my bloody life which I now will regret doing and probably never do again….

Over and out! If anyone has any suggestions on what they would like me to blog about in the future then please let me know 🙂 Or any feedback is much appreciated.

DSC_0164

One thought on “Ten Minute Makeover in under Ten products…

Leave a Reply

